Title : Lawyer Year of call : 2017

Expertise : municipal law | environmental law | administrative law | agricultural and agri-food law

Hotline: 873 382-0406

Sarah Cain hails from the Outaouais region. She earned a degree in civil law from the University of Ottawa in 2013, then completed a master’s in health law and policy at Université de Sherbrooke. She received a scholarship from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research for her thesis on the advance medical directives register. She joined the Cain Lamarre team first as an articled clerk in 2016 and then as a lawyer in 2017. Sarah practices primarily in the field of municipal and environmental law at the Drummondville office.



  • Municipal law
  • Environmental law
  • Administrative law
  • agricultural and agri-food law


  • LL.M.,health law and policy, Université de Sherbrooke (2016)
  • LL.L., Université d'Ottawa (2013)

Professional experience

  • Cain Lamarre, Drummondville (2017 to present)

Lecturing, conferences, publications

  • Bill No. 122: Impacts on the powers of municipalities, taxation, municipal finances and economic development: A training session given in collaboration with Mr. François Bouchard (2018)
  • Author of several articles about municipal law in various publications (Québec municipal, Juriclip Municipal et environnement by Cain Lamarre, QUORUM by the FQM, BâtiVert by the COMBEQ, and Scribe by the ADMQ)
  • Co-author of the article "L’encadrement juridique du panier public des services de santé et des services sociaux au Québec" published byYvon Blais (2016)
  • Master’s thesis entitled “Une analyse des limites inhérentes au nouveau régime des directives médicales anticipées face à l’essor du droit à l’autonomie décisionnelle du patient” published on the Université de Sherbrooke website (2016)
  • Research and teaching assistant for faculty members of Université de Sherbrooke’s Centre de recherche en droit et politiques de la santé


  • Recipient of a scholarship from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research
  • Recipient of the Dean’s Award, University of Ottawa